10 lessons I learned from writing online

starting with the most powerful...

written by JOSH GESSNER | The Curious Competitor

For 4 months, I've been writing online.

In this time, I went from 0 to 15,000+ followers.

Here's 10 incredible lessons I've learned:

(starting with the most powerful).

DMs are your super power.

I've sent DMs to those with 300k+ followers - who've become friends.

E.g. @SaveYourSons, @creation247

DMs have asymmetrical upside:

Connecting with amazing people, for 30 seconds of your time.

Engineered Serendipity.

A fancy way of saying: 'Create your own luck'.

When you put your ideas and insights out into the world:

You create energy for opportunities and luck... to find you.

You can make an impact.

The problems you've solved for yourself - can help others.

I've shared my solutions to struggles on and off the baseball field.

The result - I've been able to make an impact in a small way.

Good Writing = Good Thinking.

Great writing is an illusion - It comes from great thinking.

Writing clears the fog in your brain and improves your ability to think.

"Writing is like a doctor's checkup for your brain"

Build your Learning Engine.

The better your consumption, the better your creation.

My favorites to consume:

• Newsletter (Farnam Street)

• Podcast (Modern Wisdom)

Build your unique learning engine.

A Bear Riding a Unicycle.

A bear isn't special.

A person riding a unicycle isn't special.

But a bear riding a unicycle?

That's f*cking amazing!

To build an audience in 2024:

You need to find your bear riding a unicycle.

What combination of skills make you unique?

I'm still working on this - but I'm starting with baseball and following my curiosity.

Anti-Niche.

When I started writing, I forced myself to write within a niche.

This lead to burn out and loss of interest.

Instead, write about what you're excited about- because it'll show.

Supercharged Learning.

You learn the best when you teach.

And writing online is essentially teaching your audience.

For most of my posts, I implement the Feynman Technique.

Ultimate form of leverage.

One piece of your writing can reach millions.

And one of those readers... could change your life.

"If you want to reach the smartest people in the world... Write." - David Perrel