How the Minor Leagues work

and what its like to be a Minor Leaguer...

written by JOSH GESSNER | The Learning Engine

Today at a Glance:

In 2019, I signed a contract with the Philadelphia Phillies.

5 years later, I haven't played in a single MLB game.

Here's how the Minor Leagues work (and what it's like to a Minor Leaguer):

You compete against the opponent - and your teammates.

When I signed my contract in 2019, I was thrust into a harsh reality:

There are ~200 minor leaguers competing for 1 spot in the MLB team.

They're also your best friends.

Despite competing against each other, it doesn't feel like it.

You spend more time with your teammates than your family and friends.

They become your best friends, and the best part of being a baseball player.

It's humbling.

Out of Australia, I was the best pitcher on every team.

As a Minor Leaguer - I was no longer special.

Everyone was the best player on their previous team.

You're constantly moving.

There are 6 levels in the Minor Leagues:

Rookie ball

A

A+

AA

AAA

MLB

Each level has a team in a different location - many in small, remote towns.

At any time you can be sent up or down.

The ideal scenario is that you move up 1-2 levels each year.

But sometimes injuries and bad performances get in the way.

My career trajectory:

2019: Rookie Ball

2020: COVID cancelled season

2021: Rookie Ball

2022: A

2023: A/ A+

2024: A+

Most... Won't make it.

There are 5500+ minor leaguers for 780 spots in the Big Leagues.

On top of that, the draft occurs every year.

New players come in, underperforming players get cut.

You travel to places... you've never heard of.

In 2022 and 2023 I spent most of my time in Kinston, NC playing for the Down East Wood Ducks.

Without baseball - I wouldn't have known it existed.

Baseball becomes your job.

When you sign, you receive a bonus ranging from $5k - $8 million+.

I signed for $1.2 million.

With it, I placed expectations on myself and turned into a job rather than a passion.

The best ones are able to keep it fun.

It's not glamorous - but it's not bad either.

Recent changes have made it so that teams cover housing and most food.

Our salary ranges from 25k-35k for a season to cover other expenses.

Sometimes - you'll hate baseball.

In 2021 I had a bad case of the throwing yips.

Basically, I couldn't throw a baseball remotely accurately.

I not only hated my job - I dreaded it.

Your body will hurt more than it doesn't.

Squeezing performance out of your body day in and day out - means you'll be hurting.

It becomes the norm.

Any day you're good enough to compete is a good day.

You get every chance to reach your potential.

The organizations provide you with every resource.

• Coaches

• Technology

• Knowledge and Support

Teams spend millions on getting their minor league players better.

You learn valuable lessons - the hard way.

Work ethic, Discipline, Emotional Control.

The best lessons come from being humiliated on the baseball field.

The goal is worth it.

Financially, minimum wage in the MLB is $740,000.

A couple years can change your life.

But even more meaningful:

You get to call yourself a Big Leaguer for life.

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading!